What Is Instagram Last Seen Feature? (Updated)

What Is Instagram Last Seen Feature? (Updated)

Instagram’s last seen feature was released from Instagram headquarters in 2019, and people are still trying to find ways to get rid of it altogether.

The last seen feature was released firstly for WhatsApp and Facebook Messenger. Now also Instagram has it. Users of the social media giant can only use the last seen feature via the Direct Message system.

What a wonderful day for all of the Instagram users around the globe!

We’re kidding. Everybody hates it to their guts.

What does “Instagram last seen” mean, though? Instagram is one of the most known social media apps today, and it has a billion users around the world who use the app monthly.

What Does “Last Seen” Mean?

Instagram just released a new feature. Almost billions of social media users following Instagram’s new feature cause Instagram’s most popular social media app in the world.

You should be extra careful when messaging with people after this update. If they realize you were seeing their messages all the time, it can break your hard-earned trust in the relationship. Therefore, you may even consider to disable it altogether.

  • Users are only able to use Instagram’s last seen feature at direct messages.
  • The direct message system was released many years ago, but then it didn’t have the last seen feature, and users were only able to see when the recipient opened their message.
  • Now your followers can see your last seen time, and also even who does not follow you can see your last seen time.

Therefore, last seen can make your life harder if you tend to ignore people a lot. Well, almost all of us have to do that to reserve some time for ourselves, and in that case, closing the last seen feature may help a lot with your relationships. If you want to avoid these messages altogether, you can disable direct messages on Instagram.

instagram-last-seen

How to Close Your Last Seen Feature?

If you want to use Instagram’s last seen feature, you must update your Instagram app. This feature is just for the mobile apps for now, but maybe in the future Instagram web page can have it.

There is nothing to do for activating Instagram’s last seen feature, just update your app, and that’s all. But if you do not want to use this new feature, you can also shut it down.

This new feature can break some relationships cause when WhatsApp had the same update, people who use WhatsApp spoke out against for last seen update. But they, the developers, even so, gave a shutdown option for users. 

This style of update always costs little riots, and then in time, users settle down. Here is how to turn off the status on Instagram:

  • If you do not want to use the new last seen checker update, open Instagram and go to Instagram settings and shut down “Show Activity Status,” and you all set.
  • After that, people won’t see when was the last time you were active on the Instagram Direct. You will not be seen with a green dot that shows you are online as well. However, they will still know if you somehow see their messages.

Read also: How to See When Someone Was Last Active on Instagram

RECENT POSTS
Why Can't I Tag Someone on Instagram?
Why Can't I Tag Someone on Instagram?

Many users ask "why can't I tag someone on Instagram?", and it is a persistent error of the social network, almost as much as not being able to set mu...

Instagram Fashion and Beauty Influencers
Instagram Fashion and Beauty Influencers

Instagram is one of the most significant photo and video sharing social networks. It has been drawing the attention of users around the world since it...

instagram-last-seen-update

Conclusion – More of a Disliked Feature

As you see, there is a controversy about Instagram last seen feature, and almost all of the users hate this feature. That’s completely normal; we’re creatures concerned about their privacy.

In that case, we can say that Instagram’s developers did a good job by allowing people to see when their recipient was active. However, it’s also a good move that they allow us to close this feature.

So, do you close the last seen feature, or do you keep it open? Ignoring people is an art, and we want to know how talented you are. Let us know down right in the comments.

Thank you for having some quality time with InstaFollowers!

Frequently Asked Questions

With the latest update, users can see when people they follow or have DMs last active on Instagram.

The last active feature also includes the option to control and disable users’ activity status, so the person may have disabled it.

When you disable your activity status, you also will not be able to see other people’s last active status too.

Leaving Instagram open in the background of your mobile device without closing the app completely may cause this.

Unfortunately, there’s no such feature available for Instagram yet.

James Orublig

Posts: 584

Hi, my name is James but my friend calls me JamesTheNews since I always have the latest news about social media. Follow my blogs to learn every bit of trickery there is to social media.

RECENT POSTS
Send Comment

Your email address will not be published.

(Total: 23 Average: 5 )

No comments to show.