How do I set my photos and videos to private so that only approved followers can see them?
When you first open your Instagram account it is by default-adjusted on the Public profile. This means that anyone can view your profile and posts on Instagram. Of course, there is a way to make your posts private, so only your followers will be able to see them. If your account is private only people that are on your follower’s list can see your photos or videos in Photos tab or Search and Explore, or on hashtag or location pages. You can set your photos to be private only from your mobile device and not from a desktop computer.
When you want to set your photos to be private on your Instagram application, you can do this with your iPhone, Windows Phone, and Android.
This process is very simple. No matter what type of device you have, you just have to go to your profile page by tapping, then you will see a screen with various options and there you will find the option to turn to Private Account settings. You do this just by a tap.
There are some things you should know about private photos. For example, you should think about accounts that are connected to your Instagram account and their settings. When you post to twitter that is a post on private on Instagram may be visible to the people who can see your Twitter posts.
Once your account is set to private, people will have to send you a follow request if they want to see your posts. This is a good thing to do if you have your private account, like a personal one, but for business accounts, this is not recommended. If you have a business account, you would like your posts and photos to see as many people as possible.
If someone wants to follow you, their followers request will appear in your Activity option, and there you can approve or ignore them.
There is also an option to block some of your followers if you do not want them to see your photos or posts anymore and an option for you to send a photo or video directly to someone even if they are not your followers.
When your photos are private, Instagram hides them from everyone but the people who are your followers and they do not appear in searches and they are can not be seen on your profile by someone who is not approved to be your follower.
Making your account private, you have a greater control. However, this limits your exposure on the Instagram network and it is difficult for you to attract new people to follow you. It is all about why you use Instagram and what do you want to achieve.
If you change your mind, you can always change your settings to public, and then anyone can see your photos at any time.
We suggest you to read How do I add a bio or link to my website? about add bio on instagram, add link on instagram and instagram