We all need a break from social media sometimes. We love to share our thoughts and moments, but there are some periods that we do not want to share or see anything in social media. Twitter is one of the most commonly used social media platforms. That is why people wonder how to temporarily deactivate a Twitter account.
People who use Twitter commonly, interact with other users as well. That is where things can get out of control. There are many accounts trying to harass people, especially popular ones. That is why some popular account users are fed up with Twitter.
That is not the only case for temporarily deactivating a Twitter account. Sometimes we can do things that we are embarrassed about. When we write something on social media when we are hot-headed, the results are not very nice. However, you may prefer to make your Twitter account private to avoid harassment.
How to Deactivate Your Account
If you want to temporarily deactivate a Twitter account by any reason, it is possible. Keep in mind that this is not deleting your account. However, deleting your account goes through the same process.
Many social media platforms do not let their users to temporarily deactivate their accounts. Twitter is very generous in that manner. They should know about the struggles that Twitter users are facing through and they thought of a solution.
When you want to deactivate your account, Twitter reminds you of some information before deactivating your account. If you want to change your username or email address, you do not have to deactivate your account to do that. You can change them from the Account Settings.
Steps to Deactivate
Now let’s take a look at how to deactivate your account:
- Click on the ‘More’ button on the Profile page to reach the drop-down menu.
- Select ‘Settings & privacy’ from the menu.
- Go to the bottom of the Account section and click on ‘Deactivate your account.’
- Read the info and click on ‘Deactivate.’
- Enter your password to confirm and click on the ‘Deactivate account‘ button.
Now deactivating your account is not deleting it, so you do not need to worry about that. After you deactivate your account, your username, tweets, lists, and your followers will not be accessible through web, Android and iOS. When you decide to reactivate your account you will not lose them.
However, there is a period for deactivating your account. Once you deactivate your account, Twitter will hide your information for 30 days. After 30 days your account will be added to the deleting list.
How to Reactivate Your Account
Now that you are ready to turn back on Twitter and pick up where you left off. It is easy. You can reactivate your account just by logging in to Twitter. You will re-gain access to all of your tweets, lists, and your followers.
How to Use Twitter for Business
Today, the power of social media creates brand new opportunities in both daily and commercial life. Every day, hundreds of businesses are growing than...
Remember to do this in 30 days after you deactivate your account. Otherwise, your account might be deleted. You will not be able to use your old username to reactivate your account after it is deleted.
We have touched upon how to temporarily deactivate a Twitter account. We all want to take a break from social media sometimes. No matter the reason we want social media platforms to allow us to leave temporarily. Luckily, Twitter allows that.
We have mentioned how to deactivate your Twitter account and how to reactivate your account in detail. It is great to have everything back when you decide to turn back. Keep in mind that you have to do it in 30 days after you deactivate your account.
To learn more about Twitter, read our latest articles about it. Discover the world of Twitter with its features.