As you know, it’s possible to receive and send messages on Instagram if you wish so. However, for some reason, everyone has the right to retreat to themselves.
This article aims to know more about the subject of how to disable direct messages on Instagram.
It was a good day in the Instagram Headquarters when Instagram Direct came around January almost six years ago. With this feature, we were finally able to send and receive direct messages.
Nonetheless, first of all, there’s another feature some people want to disable. It’s very simple, so we’ll start with that.
Disabling Unwanted DM Features on Instagram
There may be plenty of irritating features on Instagram that you might want to get rid of, and that’s quite normal. In this case, it is important to know how you can disable a specific feature for a while, or good.
There are tons of them like activity status, read receipts, notification sounds which you may want to disable as soon as possible as these features usually raise problems more than real functionality.
How to Disable Activity Status
You are also able to see when your friends and followers were last active on the app. As a result, people can see when you were active too. This feature is called ‘Instagram Activity Status,’ and everyone hates it.
Instagram created/implemented both of these features to enhance your communication with your followers/friends. Some users don’t like it because it makes you ignoring others more difficult.
If they can see when you were active the last time, they can usually get the idea. They will know that you’ve seen their direct message but didn’t reply.
So, how can we turn this annoying thing off?
- Just go to the Settings page of your Instagram.
- Scroll down, when you see “Show Activity Status,” toggle it off.
- It’s that simple. You’ve just disabled activity visibility.
Nobody will see when was the last time you were active now. In that way, you can ignore people as you want. Nobody’s going to know that you were active and just swiped the notification up.
The thing is, you won’t be able to see others’ activity times either. However, still, the problem is solved!
Can You Disable Direct Messages on Instagram?
We know this is what most people are wondering about today; it’s quite common for people to receive spam messages from bots non-stop.
However, time for the truth: there’s no possible way to stop receiving messages from people. So there’s no complete “dm off” zone.
Nevertheless, you can do something else and disable your message notifications. In this way, you’ll never receive notification for a message, ever again.
- To disable Instagram’s Direct Messaging feature, get to Options.
- Then get to Settings, you’ll see the ‘Push Notifications’ tab here.
- Tap on that, and you’ll see Instagram Direct requests and Instagram Direct.
- If you tap on both of these and turn them off, nobody will be able to send you Direct Messaging requests, and you won’t be able to use this feature until you turn it on again.
That’s about it. You can turn your notifications back on from the same pages if you ever desire to do so.
FAQs About Instagram DMs
DM messages disappear without your intervention only if the person blocks you. The same applies when you’re blocking someone, too; this way, you can delete some unwanted messages that the person stores on their Instagram without having to ask them.
To put it simply, the “flag” does the same job as the “star” on WhatsApp; to let users pick specific messages that they feel like to revisit in the future.
There isn’t such a feature that is officially released or supported by Instagram. However, some 3rd party apps claim to let you download your Instagram DMs as PDF files.
You can send a DM to anyone who’s settings are set to receive messages from other people. Nonetheless, the DMs you send to people who are not your friends, your DMs, will be sent to their request box.
Sadly, there’s no direct or easy way of scrolling to the top of your Instagram DMs.
Conclusion – Don’t Want Direct Messages? Fine
In this article, we tried to find a solution to how to disable Direct Messages and how to disable Activity Status (Last Seen).
We are at the end of our article once again. Unfortunately, there isn’t a feature that allows users to disable their messages section. However, you can disable your message notifications for good.
We hope this was helpful. If you liked this article, please feel free to leave a comment and, of course, check our other stuff out too.
Thank you for reading this article!