Kik is a fast and simple messaging app used by many people, including children and teenagers. Unlike some apps, Kik can be used without entering a phone number. This may bring some security issues with it. Since it is very easy to talk to strangers on this app, it may not be a safe platform for kids to use. If you are a parent, you may want to take control of your child’s Kik account. Or you may be simply tired of using Kik. Either way, the solution is to deactivate or delete your Kik account.
In our article, we will need about how to delete a Kik account permanently. We will also mention how to temporarily deactivate your Kik account so stay tuned.
Delete Your Kik Account Permanently
Before you permanently delete your Kik account, there are some important points you should know.
- You cannot recover your Kik account in the future. If you want, you will need to create a new one.
- Your username will not appear in the search results.
- Your Kik account will be permanently deleted from the Kik server.
- You cannot receive any e-mails or messages from the Kik team.
Time needed: 15 minutes.
If you are ready to delete your Kik account, you need to follow these steps:
- Navigate to the website.
Visit https://ws.kik.com/delete from your web browser.
- Enter the information.
Enter your username, password, e-mail, and the reason why you want to delete your account.
- Check the box.
Check the box to state that you have acknowledged you cannot reactivate your account later.
Click ‘Go,’ and you will receive an e-mail to permanently deactivate your account.
- Finish the process.
Click on the link, and your permanent deactivation is complete.
However, if you are not sure about deleting your Kik account, you can deactivate it temporarily.
Deactivate Your Kik Account Temporarily
You can deactivate your Kik account temporarily if you do not want to use it for a while. You need to deactivate your Kik account using your web browser.
Before you deactivate, keep in mind that:
- You will not get e-mails or messages about your Kik account.
- Your Kik username will not appear on search results.
- Your Kik username will disappear from the contact lists of people you have interacted with.
To deactivate your Kik account temporarily;
- Go to https://ws.kik.com/deactivate
- Enter your e-mail and click ‘Go!’
- Go to your e-mail and click on the link
Your temporary deactivation is complete.
FAQs on Deleting a Kik Account
After you delete your account, your username is deleted permanently too. It may be used by another new user, but it will not be related to your deleted account.
If you delete Kik permanently, it means that your Kik conversation history will be deleted permanently. However, if you are deactivating for only a short time, you can recover your Kik history.
Yes, definitely. If someone deletes their Kik account permanently, the username gets removed from the contact lists of those with who they have interacted.
You need to know your child’s username or e-mail to delete their Kik account. After that, it is the same procedure. However, you can submit a deactivation inquiry to [email protected] if you detect any misuse. Do not forget to add Parent Inquiry in the subject line and include the child’s username, e-mail, and age.
No, Kik does not have a policy for inactive accounts, so they do not delete inactive accounts automatically.
Conclusion on Deleting a Kik Account
Kik is a fast and easy messaging app to chat with friends and family or even with strangers. In the article above, we have talked about how to permanently delete your Kik account or temporarily deactivate it. If you follow the instructions above, you will be able to get rid of your account. If you change your mind, here are the instructions that will help you use Kik on PC more efficiently.