Facebook is one of the leading and strongest applications of social media and messaging. It keeps getting stronger by incorporating Instagram. Facebook has billions of followers, and the count keeps becoming more day by day. Even though it is always on the rise, the idea to deactivate the Facebook account may come to mind for some reason.
This idea is useful when we don’t want to use our account for some time but not leave it behind permanently. We can go away from the scene by deactivating the account for a while.
Don’t worry; it’ll still be there when you decide to come back! In this article, we will talk about how to deactivate and delete an account. Let’s begin.
How to Deactivate Facebook Temporarily
The process of deactivating a Facebook account is quite simple. Afterward, whenever you want, you can easily activate your account and keep using it.
Step-by-step deactivate Facebook account:
- The first thing to do to deactivate a Facebook account, log into the application using your password.
- After you log in, tap on the profile icon.
- In the screen that comes up, you will see the “Settings & Privacy” button. Tap on that button and proceed by going to settings.
- To deactivate a Facebook account, you will see all the settings Accounts Center.
- Tap on “Account ownership and control”.
- Then, choose “Deactivation or deletion”.
- Choose an account that you want to deactivate it.
- If not, simply tap on the “Deactivate” button.
- Basically, after this moment, your account has been deactivated until you choose to activate it again.
When you log in again using your password, your account becomes active again. If you deactivate your account because of the likes number, you can buy Facebook likes.
What Happens After I Deactivate My Account?
You’ve followed the steps above and deactivated your account. Now you know how to do it. So now what, you may be wondering. Because of your choice to deactivate the account, nobody can reach your Facebook page from now on. In short, you won’t come up with any name searches on the website. But what you need to know about all this is that Facebook and Messenger accounts are separate.
Just because you deactivated your Facebook doesn’t mean your Messenger is also deactivated. You can still use Messenger while not having an active FB account. So you can still send and receive messages easily.
- After you deactivate the Facebook account, you will still see your messages and the ones you sent on Messenger.
- But when they tap on the “See Profile” button, nothing will come up.
- Sometimes they can still see your profile picture; sometimes, it seems without a profile phone.
As we said above, the Messenger application is different than the Facebook app. Facebook being deactivated doesn’t affect the other.
- Your friends can still find and text you on Messenger after you deactivate your account on Facebook.
- If you don’t want that, you also need to deactivate your Messenger account.
The good thing is, we’re here, and we can teach you how to do it step by step.
How to Deactivate Messenger Account
To deactivate the Messenger account, first, you have to deactivate the account of your Facebook.
It’s the parent application of Messenger, after all. Doing this is necessary to deactivate the Facebook Messenger account.
- Firstly, you need to enter the Messenger app.
- Then tap on your profile picture at the top. (left picture)
- After this, you will see the “Legal & Policies” tab. (right picture). Tap on that button.
- In the “Legal & Policies” tab, we can see the “Deactivate Messenger” button.
- After you tap that button, it will ask you to enter your password.
- Once you did that, that’s pretty much it. Your messenger account is deactivated now.
If you can’t deactivate your account, you can contact Facebook Support.
How to Delete a Facebook Account Permanently
Above, we talked about how to temporarily deactivate your account. You could go, but you could always come back. You could turn your back, but it’d always be waiting for you.mIts’ love for you was unconditional. But if you delete your Facebook account, then it won’t be there when you get back anymore. You need to remember; that this is a permanent decision. There is no way of getting your account back if you delete the Facebook account that you own. No going back. Here are the steps to delete Facebook account.
- Open your Facebook account and then go to the settings.
- Tap on the “Accounts Center”.
- Open the “Accounts” section.
- Then, tap on the “Personal details” button.
- On this page, you will see the “Account ownership and control” button. Open it.
- After tapping on the “Deactivation or deletion” button, choose a Facebook account you want to delete.
- Choose “Delete account” and tap on the “Continue” button.
- Enter your password and delete your Facebook account permanently.
Warning: When you delete the Facebook account, every page you own, moderate, or create will also get deleted. If you don’t want those pages to get deleted alongside you, it’s best to make someone else a moderator/owner before deleting your account. Otherwise, all of those will perish right along with your account. Before deleting your account, if you have a Facebook Page, don’t forget to download Facebook data.
What Happens When You Delete Your Account
Even if you delete your account, some things stay undeleted. For example, a message you send to your friend will still stay in that person’s inbox. Even though you deleted your account and everything with it permanently, that message, that text, will always stay there one moment in time.
How to Add Song to Facebook Profile
Greetings, aficionados of melody and rhythm! Have you ever pondered about making your Facebook profile a reflection of your musical preferences? If so...
Also, Facebook needs some time to examine before it deletes everything for good. After you choose to delete your account, you need to wait approximately 90 days.
Only at this timespan your photos and/or other posts you have will get deleted. So, you still need to wait for clear results. Nothing happens in an instant; it requires time.
- You deleted your Facebook account. We spoke about how you need to wait for 90 days after this decision.
- Your information and data will be erased slowly over time. For the confirmation of your account’s deletion, you need to wait two weeks.
If you log into your account in this timeframe, if there is any activity with the account in this timeframe, your account will not be deleted. Let’s get to how you can delete the Facebook account permanently now.
How to Remove the Apps That Are Connected to Facebook
- Tap the three lines at the corner when you’re on the app. (in the red square picture below)
- Scroll down, and you will see settings; after that, tap on “Account Settings.”
- You will see all the apps and websites that are connected to your Facebook account here.
- You can select manually, choose all of them, or search for certain apps.
- After you choose the apps and tap on “Remove,” it will ask for confirmation.
- After you hit the remove button, that’s it.
- You just deleted the connection Facebook had with these applications.
Conclusion on Deactivating Facebook
Deactivating your account from a website like Facebook can be challenging. The allure of answering quizzes and receiving “likes” keeps many people intact on their screens. But if you have the power to step away from the endless stream of notifications, you might find yourself appreciating life more. And it all begins with deactivating an account.